In this section

F. Lewis Orrell Jr. Bequest Curriculum Development Award

The Arizona Archaeological and Historical Society (AAHS) is making available grants of up to $5,000 per year for curriculum development related to the archaeology, history, or anthropology of the American Southwest. We are soliciting proposals from any public or public-charter elementary, middle, or high school located in Pima or Santa Cruz Counties.  Awards will be granted on a competitive basis.

AAHS was founded over 100 years ago primarily to support the archaeology program of the Arizona State Museum. Our mission has grown significantly since that time, and one of our goals is to expand diversity and inclusiveness in the fields of history, archaeology and anthropology. It is our belief that one way to accomplish this is to expose children to these fields at an early age. These grants are available thanks to a generous bequest to AAHS from F. Lewis Orrell Jr.

How to apply:

  • Funds may be requested for materials, supplies, textbooks, or other instructional materials used in classrooms, and for direct expenses (travel, enrollment costs) for K-12 teacher continuing education in courses related to the archaeology, anthropology, or history of the southwestern United States.
  • The proposal must clearly state the objective and
  • Demonstrate that the award will be sufficient to meet the stated goals, either in entirety, or as matched with other funds received independently by applicants.
  • Include a detailed budget with budget justification.
  • The written (non-budget) portion of the proposal is not to exceed 5 pages (double spaced, 11 point font).
  • An endorsement from your school principal must be included as well as your current resumé.

Funded projects:

  • Funds will be dispersed by AAHS to the awardee’s school.
  • Within 60 days after completion of the funded project, a report detailing the project’s execution and outcomes along with a detailed financial statement must be submitted to AAHS.

The application deadline for this award is February 28, 2018 for awards to be made during the interval from June 2018 through December 2018. Applications should be submitted through the AAHS website between February 1st and February 28th. For Application Form click here.