In this section

Recipients of the Alexander J. Lindsay Jr. Unsung Hero Award

Established in 2017, the Alexander J. Lindsay Unsung Hero Award honors the late Lex Lindsay, a long-time southwestern archaeologist, AAHS supporter and Board Officer. Although Lex was definitely not an unsung hero, he recognized the importance of individuals whose work has often gone unacknowledged, but that is critical to the success of others’ archaeological, anthropological, or historical research.

2017 –  Barbara Breternitz and Cherie Freeman

2018 – Jamie Merewether and Marilyn Markel

2019 – Timothy B. Graves and Lonnie C. Ludeman

2020 – Helen L. O’Brien and Deborah V. Gibson