In this section


The Arizona Archaeological and Historical Society makes annual awards in four categories:

  • Standard Research Grants
  • Travel Grants
  • Carryl B. Martin Research Award
  • Annual Subvention Award


  • Membership in the Society is required to apply for any of these grants.
  • Applicants must be involved in study or research in one of the following disciplines: Southwestern archaeology, anthropology, American Indian studies, ethnohistory or history.
  • Applicants can submit proposals for each grant category. Only one award will be granted per applicant per year.

Application Date

Applications for standard research and travel grants are accepted between January 1 and February 15. Applications for the Carryl B. Martin award are accepted between November 1 and 30th.

Award Date

Standard awards are announced in March. The Martin award is announced in December.


Awards of up to $1,000.00 are available.


Travel grants are available to help cover the costs of travel to professional conferences and workshops. Awards are granted up to the amount of $500.00.


In late 2015 the Arizona Archaeological and Historical Society received a substantial bequest from the estate of Carryl B. Martin, an avocational archaeologist and long time member of AAHS, specifically to support our research program.

A single award of $5,000.00 will be given annually to a high-quality archaeological or historical research project that focuses on significant questions in the archaeology of the Southwest United States or Northwest Mexico. In the spirit of Carryl Martin projects that allow opportunities for participation by avocational AAHS members will receive special consideration.

Subvention Award

The purpose of this program is to provide money in support of the publication of digital or print books or Kiva journal articles that further AAHS’s mission. Many sources of grant funding do not support publication costs. Through this program, AAHS can provide occasional funding to prevent this barrier to the sharing of research results. This year, awards up to $5000 will be considered. Subvention Awards.


For Further Information contact Mike Lindeman Chair AAHS Research Grants Committee